Posted on


Karisma Records has today debuted “Oh My Gravity!” the opening track from “City of the Sun”, the debut full-length album from Norwegian Prog Rockers SEVEN IMPALE. The album itself, which was recorded and produced at the Solslottet and Duper Studio by Iver Sandøy, who has produced bands such as ENSLAVED, KRAKOW, etc., is due for release in September of this year, and “Oh My Gravity!” can be heard at SoundCloud.

With a relatively young lineup SEVEN IMPALE consists of Stian Økland on vocals and guitars, Fredrik Mekki Widerøe on drums, Benjamin Mekki Widerøe on sax, Tormod Fosso on bass, Erlend Vottvik Olsen on guitar and Håkon Vinje on keyboards, and was formed in Bergen, Norway in 2010.

Whilst the prevailing influence throughout “City Of The Sun” clearly lies within the Classic Progressive Rock genre, SEVEN IMPALE’s music actually transcends several genres fearlessly and with deceptive ease. The five musically complex tracks that form the album are each distinctly different, something that only a lineup of musicians from a variety of disciplines as diverse as classical orchestra and big band, metal and jazz, and rock and electronica, could hope to create.

Track listing for “City Of The Sun” as follows:
1. Oh, My Gravity!
2. Windshears
3. Eschaton Horo
4. Extraction
5. God Left Us for a Black-Dressed Woman

More information about SEVEN IMPALE can be found on the band’s Facebook page

The whole of SEVEN IMPALE’s 2013 EP can be heard at SoundCloud.

Posted on


Not only is ARIBAG guitarist BJØRN RIIS releasing a debut solo album, but he has also drawn the artwork that will be used for the cover, aided and abetted by AIRBAG frontman ASLE TORSTRUP who designed the cover.

Lullabies in a Car Crash
Titled “Lullabies in a Car Crash”, the album is set for an Autumn release on Karisma Records, who recently debuted RIIS track “Stay Calm”, which can be heard at SoundCloud.

According to RIIS, “Lullabies in a Car Crash”, which will be co-produced by long-time AIRBAG collaborator Vegard Sleipnes and will feature AIRBAG’s Henrik Fossum on drums and Tostrup who will provide programming, is very much a personal album. Like many musicians who work in established bands, a solo album is an opportunity to explore different musical directions that might not necessarily fit in with their primary band’s material. It is an exploration that RIIS very much relishes, and he considers that some of the material he has produced for “Lullabies in a Car Crash” is some of his best to date.