Posted on


Photo by Annabel Lee
Photo by Annabel Lee

With their 2014 debut album “City of the Sun” earning itself seventh place in the best albums of the year poll, fans have been curious to hear what SEVEN IMPALE will bring to the table next. And today Karisma Records have announced that “Contrapasso”, the sophomore full-length album from the young Norwegian Prog Rockers, is set for release in the Autumn.

Whilst details are still being kept under wraps, the label had this to say about what to expect: “As you can imagine with such a young band, SEVEN IMPALE have grown a lot since their debut. They have continued to explore the unique sound they started to develop on “City of the Sun”, and, as their confidence has grown, they have taken that sound further, becoming more experimental, and adding complexity and harder soundscapes, along with more catchy and upbeat tracks. Let’s just say that SEVEN IMPALE don’t believe in genre boundaries, and thankfully, they have lost none of their youthful enthusiasm in the process”.

“Contrapasso”, was recorded at the Solslottet Studio, with the band once again calling upon the services of Iver Sandøy, known for his work with bands like ENSLAVED and KRAKOW, to name but a few. “This time our producer, Iver Sandøy, has taken an even bigger part in making decisions regarding the arrangements and instrumentation” commented the band, who went on to explain that “The process of recording this album has been quite different from last time. There have been countless edits and changes from the material we brought with us into the studio. It’s been a long road which has been worth every step, and the result makes it all the more clear why, once again, we chose to work with Iver.

“Early on in the process of creating the album, our vision for “Contrapasso” had much more of a thematic concept, and we think this comes through in the form of a more unified (though quite diverse) album. We’re not going to go too much into the meaning of the lyrics, but you could call it a darker counterpart to “City of the Sun”. Darker not only in concept, but also darker and heavier in sound, but with an even bigger dynamic range. In many ways it’s weirder and more experimental, while still sounding 100% like SEVEN IMPALE.”

Formed in Bergen, Norway in 2010, SEVEN IMPALE’s relatively young lineup consists of Stian Økland on vocals and guitars, Fredrik Mekki Widerøe on drums, Benjamin Mekki Widerøe on sax, Tormod Fosso on bass, Erlend Vottvik Olsen on guitar and Håkon Vinje on keyboards. What sets the band apart from many of the new arrivals on the scene is the sheer diversity of musical disciplines that the members bring with them. From classical orchestra to big band, metal to jazz and rock to electronic, SEVEN IMPALE have fused all their experience and influences and created a sound that is uniquely theirs.

More information about SEVEN IMPALE can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

SEVEN IMPALE’s “City of the Sun” can be heard below and at

Tracks from Karisma Records releases, can be heard at


Posted on


Tiebreaker PR 2016

With their high-octane melodic riffing and their ability to easily combine the essence of what this era’s rock & roll is all about, with the raw energy of early garage rock, TIEBREAKER have proved themselves to be big crowd pleasers, both on and off stage, not only in their native Norway, but world-wide. So today’s announcement that a new album is on the way will come as very welcome news to the band’s many fans. The album will be titled “Death Tunes” and is set to be released on Karisma Records around September time this year.

During the fall of 2015 TIEBREAKER took themselves off to a small cabin in the west of Norway to write “Death Tunes”, which they completed over a period of three months. The ten-track album was recorded in December at the Amper Tone Studio in Oslo, which is owned by Kjartan Kristiansen of the DUMDUM BOYS, and produced by KVELERTAK guitarist Bjarte Lund Rolland. The Engineer/mix/master on “Death Tunes” is Nick Terry (TURBONEGRO, KVELERTAK, LIBERTINES) with Assistant engineers Kim Lillestøl and Espen Andersen.

According to TIEBREAKER the intention is “to take rock & roll away from the tiring circuit and make it a melodic-blazing, ass-slinging, foot-through-the-floor sprint”, and with “Death Tunes” it would seem that the band’s intentions are becoming reality. Producer Bjarte Lund Rolland had this to say about the album and the band themselves: ” I loved working with them, they were able to pick up the feedback I gave on their material and came back with improvements every time. They initially impressed me live, they had a priceless chemistry and an amazing lead singer, and looked like they had played together for decades. After hearing demos of “new” stuff I was convinced they could write some really interesting things too. They have a timeless quality that’s rare for such a young band. They’re the antithesis to hipster-rock, boasting real musicianship and writing groovy, riffy, beautiful music.”

A couple of photos from the recording sessions can be seen below. More can be seen on Karisma Record’s Facebook page at HERE

Tiebreaker Studio PR

Tiebreaker Studio PR2

Formed in Odda, Hordaland, in 2011 by five childhood friends, TIEBREAKERS lineup comprises Thomas Espeland Karlsen on vocals, Eirik Wik Haug and Olav Areklett Vikingstad on guitars, Patrick Andersson on bass and Pål Gunnar Dale on drums. It is a band of musicians who embraces the ethos of hard work instilled into them by their industrial heritage, and exemplified by extensive live appearances, that culminated in a six-week European tour at the start of 2016.

More information about the band can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

A video of TIEBREAKER playing live at the ABC Studios filmed by Gregor from and produced by Kjetil Ulland, can be seen below and on the band’s YouTube channel at and on the Karisma Records channel at

TIEBREAKER’s debut full-length album can be heard on Bandcamp below and at