Major Parkinson

Come over to the passenger side, open the lid and embark on an unparalleled journey through cinematic, progressive soundscapes and otherworldly melodies.

Blackbox is the fourth studio album by the Norwegian cult prog rock outfit Major Parkinson.

In the able hands of sound maestro Yngve Leidulv Sætre, this Blackbox has been forged in stainless dark matter and is filled to the brim with musical excess. It is a treasure chest pulled patiently from the ocean floor, through shoals of curious starfish. It’s a night ride through a snowy and moonlit mountain pass, under the pale flicker of oddly shaped constellations.

The seven members of the band have spent the better part of two years creating this album, partly in the legendary Duper Studio,  and partly in their own dungeon – Degaton Studio. And the end result is now finally ready to be unleashed on the world. Linn Frøkedal (Misty Coast, Low Frequency in Stereo) contributes on no less than four tracks with her haunting vocals, and a plethora of guest musicians have all added their unique blends to further elevate the Blackbox experience. Frenetic horn sections, angelic strings, rusty hammers, paper planes and rocket ships, this album has it all.

Jon Ivar Kollbotn – Lead vocals

Eivind Gammersvik – Bass, backing vocals

Lars Christian Bjørknes – Piano, synth, organs, programming, notation, backing vocals

Sondre Sagstad Veland – Drums, perc, backing vocals

Sondre Rafoss Skollevoll – Guitar, backing vocals

Øystein Bech-Eriksen – Guitar

Claudia Cox – Violin, backing vocals

Karisma Records –

Follow us

Major Parkinson


Shopping Cart