Hot on the heels of their surprising children’s album, released on Karisma Records in late 2017, Norwegian Psychedelic Prog Folk Rockers TUSMØRKE are set to release “Fjernsyn i farver”, their sixth full length album, on the 4th May.

Never having been a band that is afraid of anyone, or anything, even the extremely complex, and rather baffling theories of existence, TUSMØRKE are happy to tackle any subject matter they perceive to be significant, and are quite prepared to wrestle their musical way through ideas that they barely comprehend. Which brings us to the somewhat mind-blowing concept on which “Fjernsyn i farver” is based.

Or maybe that should be “concepts” because “Fjernsyn i farver”, which translated means “Colour Television”, is loosely based on the two concepts of Light and Time and their relationship with reality. Or, as the band explains:

“Everything we see is a reflection made by light from the sun hitting an object. The reflected light is registered by our eyes, but the reflection is also sent out in all other possible directions, travelling at the speed of light. The unobstructed reflections would travel forever onwards into space, therefore, theoretically, if we could devise a means to move faster than light, we could overtake these reflections and view them again, seeing history backwards.

“The second idea is that light is invisible until it hits something and is reflected back, creating an image in colour which the human eye can see. So if there were no physical objects to reflect the light, there would be an eternal totality, a darkness of sorts, since light would not be seen”.

“Fjernsyn i farver”, which will be available in Dikipak, Digital Download, 12″ Vinyl and Limited Edition Purple Vinyl formats, is served up with TUSMØRKE’s brand of psychedelic prog folk, so that whilst the ideas may seem a little “out there”, the music is very accessible and, as always, interesting.

With artwork by Linn Solveig Halvorsrød and design by Tom Korsvold, tracklisting on the album us as follows:

1. Fjernsyn i farver (Colour Television)
2. Kniven i kurven (The Knife in the Basket)
3. Borgerlig tussmørke (Civil Twilight)
4. 3001
5. Death Czar
6. Tøyens hemmelighet (The Secret of Tøyen)

“Fjernsyn i farver” is now available to pre-order from the following:

EU webshop:
US webshop:

Featuring members of WOBBLER, JORDSJØ and ALWANZATAR, TUSMØRKE’s lineup fields an almost dizzying variety of instruments, and is comprised of Benediktator on Bass, vocals, Glockenspiel and percussion, Krizla on Flute, vocals, electronics and percussion, The Phenomenon Marxo Solinas on Minimoog Model D, Korg CX3, William de Blaise on harpsichord, Steinway & Sons Grand Piano, Hohner Clavinet D6, Mellotron M400, Hammond C3, Wurlitzer 200 and Solina String Ensemble, and HlewagastiR on Drums and percussion.

More information about TUSMØRKE can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

Tusmørke by Terje Skår
Photo by Terje Skår

More To Explore

Shopping Cart