Oak band

Karisma Records releases new single from upcoming Oak album.

With the release date of “The Quiet Rebellion of Compromise” getting ever closer, Karisma Records have today released one more single from the album, giving one more insight into what fans, old and new, can expect from the latest offering from Progressive Pop/Rockers OAK.

Titled “Paperwings”, OAK had this to say about the track:

We set out to write some shorter songs for this album, but Paperwings ended up being our longest one yet. It`s a journey through most aspects of our musical universe, and a dark and forceful ride into the nature of desperation, sorrow and hope.

Oak - Paperwings single

 “Paperwings” can be streamed or downloaded from a number of services at:

Set for release on the 11th November, the album itself is the perfect example of what results when a group of musicians from diverse backgrounds get together to make music. With a skill set that ranges from classical piano, to electronica, to prog and hard rock, OAK’s lineup of Simen Valldal Johannessen on vocals, piano and keys, Øystein Sootholtet on bass, acoustic and electric guitars, Sigbjørn Reiakvam on drums, percussion, programming, keys and guitars, and Stephan Hvinden on lead, rhythm and slide guitars has been able to produce a sound that weaves its way through both the alternative and the progressive rock scenes.

Oak band
Photo: Anne-Marie Forker

Easily OAK’s most dynamic album to date “The Quiet Rebellion of Compromise” presents a sharper edge than its two predecessors. With some surprises along the way, the sound is still unmistakably OAK, and offers a subtle insight into what went before, and what is yet to come, from the band.

What makes this album extra special though, is its subject matter – the frequently misunderstood issue of mental health with a focus on suicide. But to be very clear OAK have eschewed the temptation to fall into the “sensationalist” way of looking at these matters. Instead they have treated these controversial subjects with the respect and sympathy they deserve, seeking advice from experienced scholars in order that the message comes  across clearly.

OAK’s painstaking efforts with “The Quiet Rebellion of Compromise” are even reflected in the cover design, which is by Remi Juliebø / Deformat. Based on the death mask of an unknown drowning victim from 1880s Paris, known as “L’Inconnue de la Seine”, Anne-Marie Forker’s photography is a poignant reference to the album’s subject matter, whilst the font itself is partially based on the handwriting from two real suicide notes.  

Recorded in Ljugekroken and mixed at the Ghostward Studio by David Castillo (KATATONIA, LEPROUS OPETH, etc.) “The Quiet Rebellion of Compromise” was mastered by Tony Lindgren at the Fascination Street Studio.  

Oak - The Quiet Rebellion of Compromise

Track listing for “The Quiet Rebellion of Compromise” is as follows.

1. Highest Tower, Deepest Well

2. Quiet Rebellion

3. Dreamless Sleep

4. Sunday 8 AM

5. Demagogue Communion

6. Paperwings

7. Guest of Honour

“The Quiet Rebellion of Compromise” will be available on CD, Digital and Limited Edition white vinyl formats, and can now be pre-order from the following:

Various Services (regularly updated) link.karismarecords.no/Oak_The-Quiet-Rebellion-of-Compromise

Webshop: karismarecords.no/kar225-oak-the-quiet-rebellion-of-compromise
Bandcamp: oakinoslo.bandcamp.com/album/the-quiet-rebellion-of-compromise
US Webshop: karismarecords.indiemerch.com/band/oak

More information about OAK can be found on the band’s Facebook page at www.facebook.com/oakinoslo

Shopping Cart