Seven Impale

Prog rockers Seven Impale reveal details and single from upcoming album.

Since the release of SEVEN IMPALE’s 2016 album “Contrapasso”, a lot of things have happened in the lives of the band’s members. Some of those things, like having kids and finishing your education, are the sort of things that happen to most people. Others, like Vocalist/Guitarist Stian graduating from the Grieg Academy as an opera singer and launching an international career, and Keyboard  player Håkon joining ENSLAVED, are a little less run of the mill.

But, throughout these eventful seven years, SEVEN IMPALE was kept simmering in the background, and now, the long-awaited third full-length album is ready to make its very welcome appearance. 

Seven Impale - SUMMIT CD

Titled “SUMMIT”, the album will be released on Karisma Records on the 26th May, but in the meantime, fans can remind themselves of what they have been missing with a track from the album. 

Titled “IKAROS”, the track can be downloaded or streamed from a number of services at:

Seven Impale - IKAROS single

About the track, SEVEN IMPALE had this to say:

“IKAROS” is THE song from “SUMMIT” that will make you check if there is something wrong with your stereo.  It is the “single” of the album. The shortest one… just shy of ten minutes…yes, we know. A radio hit. All joking aside, this track is us summoning some of our favourite bands; Alice in Chains, The Mars Volta, Enslaved etc. The keyword here is RIFFS.

 “Summit” itself features SEVEN IMPALE’S distinctive style which blends jazz and progressive rock with more heavy influences. By limiting itself to four juggernaut tracks, and, coming in at close to 45 minutes, “SUMMIT” doesn’t leave behind the madness of “City of the Sun” and “Contrapasso”, but rather gives the music and lyrics the space and time needed to captivate and dazzle its listeners.

Recorded in Solslottet, Bergen, and produced mixed and mastered by Iver Sandøy, track listing for “SUMMIT” is as follows:


With artwork by Erik Hølleland, “Summit” will be released in CD, Vinyl and Digital formats, and is now available to pre-order from: (US)

Seven Impale - SUMMIT vinyl

Formed in Bergen, Norway in 2010, the sheer diversity of musical disciplines its members brought with them meant that SEVEN IMPALE immediately stood out from the many other new arrivals on the scene. From classical orchestra to big band, metal to jazz and rock to electronic, SEVEN IMPALE’s lineup of  Benjamin Mekki Widerøe onSaxophone, Erlend Vottvik Olsen on Guitars, Fredrik Mekki Widerøe on Drums, Guitars andVocals, Håkon Mikkelsen Vinje on Keyboards and Vocals, Stian Økland on Guitars and Vocals, and Tormod Fosso on Bass, have successfully succeeded in fusing all their individual experiences and influences to form a sound that is unmistakably theirs.

More information about SEVEN IMPALE can be found on the band’s Facebook page at or on their website at

Shopping Cart