Prog rockers Jordsjø release new single from upcoming album.

“Salighet”, the fourth full-length album from Norwegian Prock Rockers JORDSJØ, sees multi-instrumentalist Håkon Oftung (TUSMØRKE, BLACK MAGIC, THE CHRONICLES OF FATHER ROBIN) and drummer KRISTIAN FRØLAND continue on their musical journey that draws its inspiration from Nordic jazz and folk music, classical 1900s music, and sensory expanding 60s and 70s rock.

With “Salighet” set to hit the streets on the 6th October, and with the possibility of the album becoming one of the most significant Prog albums of 2023, Karisma Records have treated JORDSJØ fans, old and new, to a another glimpse, with the release of the single “Ura”, which can be downloaded or streamed from a variety of platforms at


JORDSJØ explained how a mountain hike led to the creation of this particular track:

“Ura” (The Stone Pile) is based on a poem written after a mountain hike surrounded by fog and rain, and the feeling of losing track of the trail you follow. Even in familiar places where you have wandered countless times, nature can behave in ways that make you lose your way. Life itself can sometimes be perceived in the same way, and new roads and directions can appear out of the fog. The poem was written in the same form as old folk songs, so composing music and rhythms in the same fashion was a very natural process.

As to “Salighet” itself, by melding progressive rock with fantastic melodies and an added Folkish twist, JORDSJØ sets out to explore the various forms of ecstasy.  The album’s grand dynamics and dramatics  serving as a counterpoint to the mundane reality of everyday existence.

The desire to find mystery and alternate realities amongst all that is banal in our day to day lives is expressed through JORDSJØ’s music and lyrics – the colourful symphonic folk-rock sound bringing to life a dance or a a mountain hike, a fairytale or religious pondering or any other kinds of inner travels.

Jordsjø - Salighet

Mastered by Magnus Guldbrandsen at Jelöy Sound Mastering, and with artwork by Sindre Foss Skancke, track listing for  “Salighet”  is as follows:

01. Invokasjon

02. Sankeren

03. Salighet I

04. Salighet II

05. Ura

06. Danseritualer fra Jordsjø – Prosesjon & Ekstase

07. Stjernestigen

“Salighet”  will be released in CD, Digital, LP, and Limited Edition Transparent vinyl formats, and is now available to pre-order from:



US Webshop:

More information about JORDSJØ can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

Shopping Cart