Free shipping over 100€ +


Ossicles PR Randi. S. H. Veland

With their sophomore full-length album “Music For Wastelands” set to hit the streets on Karisma Records on the 6th November, Jazz Prog Rockers OSSICLES have debuted a new video for a track from the album. The self-made video for “Family Tree” is a quirky look at some trips the band took during the summer, and it can be seen below and at

“Music for Wastelands” is a follow up to the band’s debut album “Mantelpiece”. Originally self-released, “Mantelpiece” was re-released on Karisma Records earlier this year, finally bringing the album that caught the attention of musical greats such as MIKE PORTNOY and PORCUPINE TREE’s STEVEN WILSON, to a wider audience.

Ossicles MantelpiecePR

Speaking recently about “Music For Wastelands”, OSSICLES founders Bastian and Sondre Veland, the two cousins who formed the band in 2011, had this to say: “We both agree that with “Music for Wastelands” we have been able to define our own individual style and sound much more clearly, and we now sound more like ourselves rather than the music that originally inspired us”. T

he duo then went on to explain that the album is a concept story “told through the songs, and it’s composed as a single musical piece, which is something that will probably become clear the more you hear it, because it’s meant to be an album in which you can hear something new every time you listen to it. The structure itself is inspired by DAVID BOWIE’s album “Low”, where the more immediate songs – the ones that are easiest to like – appear first, and the more experimental songs come at the end. There are few limitations when it comes to genres, and the album features a lot of different styles, something that was necessary in order to properly portray the concept and the story”.

All instruments and vocals on the 14-track album are performed by Bastian and Sondre Veland, with guest appearances from Erlend Furuset Jenssen (saxophone) and Karin Mäkiranta (vocals). Artwork for “Music for Wastelands” is by Randi Veland and track listing is as follows:

1. Halfway Homes
2. Darkroom
3. Tectonic
4. Will It Last?
5. Family Tree
6. Exit Wound
7. Pale Summer Nails
8. The Red Heart
9. Goodnight Ghosts
10. In the Stereo
11. Girl with the Glass Eye
12. Pandemonium
13. Porcelain Doll
14. Music for Wastelands

Ossicles AlbumArtworkPR

“Music for Wastelands” will be released in CD Digipack and digital formats and is now available to pre-order from Karisma Records BandCamp at or the webshop at

More information about OSSICLES can be found on the band’s website at or on Facebook at

“Halfway Homes”, the opening track from “Music for Wastelands”, the upcoming album from Jazz Prog Rockers OSSICLES, can be heard below and at

More To Explore