Free shipping over 100€ +


Ossicles PR Randi. S. H. Veland

Having recently signed the Norwegian Jazz Prog Rock duo Ossicles to their roster, and with the band’s sophomore full-length album “Music for Wastelands” set for release in October, Karisma Records will re-release OSSICLES debut double album “Mantelpiece” on the 17th July as a taste of things to come.

OSSICLES was fromed in 2011 by cousins Sondre Veland on drums, percussion, vocals and keyboards, and Bastian Veland on guitars, vocals, bass, upright bass and keyboards, and “Mantelpiece” was originally self-released in 2012 on OSSICLES’ own label No Weather Records. It was, for the most part, written when the duo were only 16/17 years old. Also included on the album is some later material, as well as tracks written during the recording process. Track listing for the nine-track album as follows:

1. Dewer’s Hollow
2. Luna’s Light
3. 1400
4. Moral Grey
5. Watersoul II
6. Barren Earth
7. Slur
8. Torn Pages
9. Silky Elm

According to the band, OSSICLES is a constantly evolving project influenced by a variety of genres including jazz, rock, avant-garde,ambient, noise and minimalism, and, young though they were when they wrote the bulk of “Mantelpiece”, the response to the album was extraordinary. It caused PORCUPINE TREE’s STEVEN WILSON to comment “I can’t believe that such young guys can make music like they do”, and it caught the attention of MIKE PORTNOY who invited the band to appear at the Progressive Nation at Sea Festival in 2014 – an invite they unfortunately had to turn down due to the prohibitive cost of travelling to the event.

OSSICLES are currently rehearsing with a full band, and are expected to hit the stage sometime soon. More information about OSSICLES can be found on the band’s website website or on Facebook

The track “1400” and the official video for the track “Watersoul II” from OSSICLES debut album “Mantelpiece” can be seen below

More To Explore