Free shipping over 100€ +


Photo by Annabel Lee
Photo by Annabel Lee

With a date of the 16th September set for the release on Karisma Records of “Contrapasso”, the second full-length album from Norwegian Prog Rockers SEVEN IMPALE, a track from the album is now streaming to give fans a taste of what they can expect. The track, “Languor” can be heard at the following:

Rock Hard:

Having earned themselves seventh place in the best albums of the year poll with their 2014 debut full-length “City of the Sun”, SEVEN IMPALE are eager to show fans how far this group of musicians have developed since then, commenting:

“Finally the day (or at least one of the days) we have waited for! We are very happy to present the track “languor” from “Contrapasso”. We feel that song captures the essence of the album with darker lyrics, heavier guitars, bigger drums, more everything! Still we are sure we are the same band that you heard on “City of the Sun”, but now a couple of years older and more mature. We are very excited and hope that you will enjoy it as much as we do!”

The nine-track album was recorded at the Solslottet Studio with producer Iver Sandøy, known for his work with bands like ENSLAVED and KRAKOW. Artwork for “Contrapasso” is by the Romanian artist Costin Chioreanu. Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Lemma
2. Heresy
3. Inertia
4. Languor
5. Ascension
6. Convulsion
7. Helix
8. Serpentstone
9. Phoenix

Seven Impale AlbumArt PR

SEVEN IMPALE’s lineup of Stian Økland on vocals and guitars, Fredrik Mekki Widerøe on drums, Benjamin Mekki Widerøe on sax, Tormod Fosso on bass, Erlend Vottvik Olsen on guitar and Håkon Vinje on keyboards seamlessly combine their various musical disciplines, from classical orchestra to big band, metal to jazz, and rock to electronic, to give their sound an original approach that eschews genre boundaries. “Contrapasso” builds on SEVEN IMPALE’s early sound, and demonstrates how much more confident and mature these young musicians have become, whilst the youthful enthusiasm that permeates all they do, is still very evident.

A release party for “Contrapasso” will take place on the 7th October at Kvarteret in Bergen.

“Contrapasso” is available to pre-order now in both CD and vinyl editions from or As well as from the Karisma Records US Webstore at

More information about SEVEN IMPALE can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

SEVEN IMPALE’s “City of the Sun” can be heard at

Tracks from Karisma Records releases, can be heard at

More To Explore