Free shipping over 100€ +


When a band releases an album filled with fairy tale characters and a generous helping of magic in its storyline, it’s reasonable to suppose that there will be enough material for a video, and, indeed, for the latest single taken from their new album “Bydyra”, TUSMØRKE have treated us to one such video.

The single, “Lær de fattige å trylle” (Teach Magic to the Poor), is just one of the fifteen tracks on “Bydyra”, an album that consists of two original mini musicals, written specifically for a local children’s school in Oslo, with those same children also taking part.

Whilst “Bydyra”, which translated means “Urban Wildlife”, is aimed at children, it is, nevertheless, appealing to adults as well, with its lyrical and musical exploration of relatively “grown up” themes such as urban wildlife, the skyrocketing prices of housing in Oslo, the financial crisis, social issues, global warming, and good and bad magic.

And this duality of appeal is perfectly illustrated in the subject matter of the track, “Lær de fattige å trylle”, and its humorous accompanying video, resonating clearly in a society where people are constantly encouraged to increase their spending by increasing their debt. As TUSMØRKE explain:

“Teaching magic to the poor is a cunning plot initiated by the dark lords of the spheres of finance. By employing the black arts of modern alchemy, even the destitute can become eager consumers, on credit. Thus, the basest elements of the population are turned into gold, as debt slaves to the banks. Never trust a sorcerer who wears a suit and not a robe.”

The video for “Lær de fattige å trylle” by Aleksander U. Serigstad / Mondo Cane, can be seen below and at

The single itself, released on the 27th October in digital format, is available from

With artwork commissioned from the legendary Norwegian artist Thore Hansen, “Bydyra” is an album filled with enchantment as it follows the adventures of three magical creatures – a crow, a badger and a squirrel. Tracklisting on “Bydyra” is as follows:

01. Tre som bor i et Tre (Three who live in a Tree)
02. Trefar (Tree Father)
03. Mellomspill (Interlude)
04. Rottekongen (The Rat King)
05. På Biblioteket (At the Library)
06. Vi er eid (We are owned)
07. Dyrene i Byen (The Animals in the City)
08. Elvene i Oslo (The Rivers of Oslo)
09. Signekjerringa (The Sibyl)
10. Tenkeren (The Thinker)
11. Trollmannen (The Enchanter)
12. Lær de fattige å trylle (Teach Magic to the Poor)
13. Dyrene bor ute (Animals Live Outside)
14. Underboerne (The Underdwellers)
15. Katabasis

Tusmørke - Bydyra CD

Karisma Records are set to release “Bydyra” on the 10th November in CD Digipak, Transparent Green Vinyl, Black Vinyl, and Digital formats which are now available to pre-order from the following:


TUSMØRKE’s members, drawn from bands such as WOBBLER, JORDSJØ and ALWANZATAR, field an almost dizzying variety of instruments, allowing the band develop its own unique take on Prog. Comprised of Benediktator on vocals, bass, acoustic guitars, Glockenspiel, jaw harp, assorted percussion and loads of handclaps, Krizla on vocals, flute and electronics, HlewagastiR on drums and percussion, Dauinghorn av Jordsjø on electric guitar, and The Phenomenon Marxo Solina on Steinway & Sons grand piano, MiniMoog model D, Solina Strings Ensemble, Mellotron M400, SCI Prophet-5, Arp Axxe, Arp Pro Soloist and Lindholm Spinet, TUSMØRKE is proving to be popular not only with their studio output, but also live on stage.

TUSMØRKE will be appearing at the Dødes Helg event which will be held at the Aye Aye Club / Tortuga in Oslo from the 3 – 5 November, and will also play the following dates in Norway:

28 Oct: Brekkenparken, Skien
11 Nov: Big Dipper, Oslo
12 Nov: Sentralen UNG, Oslo
10 Dec: Blarollinger, Oslo

More information about TUSMØRKE can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

TUSMØRKE’s previous two singles can be heard at

More To Explore